Candidates announced for Hall Green and Perry Barr by-elections

By on 05/04/2017 in Elections, News

The following persons have been nominated for the election of a councillor in the Hall Green and Perry Barr wards on Thursday, 4 May 2017:


Alan Blumenthal – UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Tanveer Choudhry – Liberal Democrats

Liz Clements – Labour Party

Gareth Courage – Green Party

Obaid Khan – Conservative Party


Matthew Ford – Green Party

Mohammed Hanif – Labour Party

Jan Morriam – Liberal Democrat Focus Team

Minu Sungu – Conservative Party

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on the day.

Anyone wishing to vote must first be registered to do so – and the deadline for registration is 13 April 2017.

After this date, anyone who has not registered will not be able to vote in these by-elections or the West Midlands Mayoral election, also being held on 4 May, meaning they cannot have a say in the democratic process.

Anyone who has not yet registered to vote can do so online at and it only takes a few minutes.

Online registration is a more secure system of registration which was introduced in 2014 to replace the old Victorian system where the “head of household” registered everyone living in a property. Now, each individual is responsible for registering themselves.



If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.