Considerate contractors recognised in annual awards

By on 10/12/2010 in News

Utility giants Severn Trent and Tarmac were among the main winners last night at a special awards ceremony staged in Birmingham to recognise good practice and consideration to the public shown by contractors working on the city's highways.

 The annual awards are staged as part of Birmingham City Council's 'Considerate Contractor Streetworks Scheme', which is designed to encourage all those working on the Birmingham highway to carry out work in a safe, considerate and consistent manner, with the public interest foremost in their minds.

 Companies joining the scheme sign up to a voluntary code of practice covering how they will operate and deal with the public while on site, with the very best practioners recognised at the annual awards.

 Councillor Timothy Huxtable, Cabinet Member for Transportation and regeneration said:

 'The success of this scheme is down to the hard work of all the people involved; Birmingham City Council staff, contractors, utilities, members of the public and especially, and most importantly our Lay Assessors who diligently report on the quality and safety of the works being undertaken on our roads and pavements.

 “I believe that the way different partners work together, using their individual and particular skills, ensures the work undertaken is of the highest quality and second to none.”

 Winners of this year's award ceremony are as follows:

 Gold Award - Awarded to contractors who have achieved excellence and is the overall best performer. 

  • Utility Gold Award - Severn Trent - Birmingham Service Delivery
  • Highways Gold Award - Tarmac National Contracting

 Merit Award - Awarded to contractors who have regularly achieved a good standard of performance. 

  • Utility Merit Award - Central Networks & Balfour Beatty
  • Highways Merit Award - Amey LG

 Lay Assessor's Award - Awarded to the most outstanding Lay Assessor, in recognition of their commitment and hard work. 

  • Lay Assessor Achievement - John Alger, Alex Evans, Karen Greenhouse, Derek Lay
  • Lay Assessor of the Year - Meena Haynes

 Special Achievement Award - Awarded to contractors whose performance has improved most significantly. 

  • Special Achievement Award - Shane Braithwaite

 Cabinet member's Award - Awarded to those who have demonstrated extraordinarily good practice and improved customer services. 

  • Cabinet Member Award - Debbie Poynton (Amey)
  • Cabinet Member Award - Paul O'Day (BCC - Street Services Division)


 For more information please contact Simon Houltby 0121 303 3503

Tags: , ,


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.